Oppression by Jessica Therrien

“All we have is now, this moment. If you live in the future, you’ll miss things, right here, right now, and you’ll regret it later.”

oppression

Synopsis: Elyse knows what it means to keep a secret. She’s been keeping secrets her whole life. Two, actually. First, that she ages five times slower than the average person, so that while she looks eighteen years old, she’s closer to eighty. Second, that her blood has a mysterious power to heal. For Elyse, these things don’t make her special. They make life dangerous. After the death of her parents, she’s been careful to keep her secret as closely guarded as possible. Now, only one other person in the world knows about her age and ability. Or so she thinks. Elyse is not the only one keeping secrets. There are others like her all over the world, descendants of the very people the Greeks considered gods. She is one of them, and they have been waiting for her for a long time. Among so many of her kind, she should not be very remarkable–except for the prophecy. Some believe she will put an end to traditions, safeguarded by violence, which have oppressed her people for centuries. Others are determined to keep her from doing just that. But for Elyse, the game is just beginning–and she’s not entirely willing to play by their rules.


Review: So it’s fair to say that I more than I loved this book. I read it a couple of months ago and I finished it in a day. I regretted that instantly as I now have to wait god knows how long before the second book comes out. As you can tell I am a very patient person and although I was a tad late in reading this I recommend for you all to read it. But in light of me saying you have to read this please don’t steal William from me as he is mine!! 

Now let’s get back to the  book itself which was around 300 pages. I mean normally that’s a long ass book and at the beginning I was kind of groaning internally about how long it was but by the end I thought it was too short. I think the reason why I enjoyed this book so much was not only did it have a kick ass story line, a swoon worthy character named William, a to die for romance, some bloody good characters but it has some life lessons in it and the icing on the cake was that  it had a mythological spin to it.

So lesson number one was why can’t I ever be in a relationship with a guy like William but I figure for that to happen you have to have non sucky guys living around you

Lesson number two was about friendship, love and ultimately life

Lesson three, well less be honest I’m still thinking about lesson number one.

The last and final lesson learnt was why can’t William exist in real life

In all honesty this book had some minor flaws but like my 3am sleepiness I got over it. This was a good book and I actually cannot wait for the next book to come out. Oppression builds a strong foundation for a series which has a lot of promise and quite possible a lot of swoon worthy moments. May the 28th why do this to me.

