April Showers by Karli Perrin

April Showers

Karli’s Links: Blog | Twitter  | Goodreads

We  were contacted by Karli to be a part of her blog tour for her debut novel: April Showers. We were extremely excited to receive an ARC of this book, which was given to us in exchange for an honest review.

______________________________________________________________________________________

Synopsis

What happens when your head and your heart pull you in completely opposite directions?

 April Adams is about to find out the hard way.

When April enrols at Manchester University, it feels like a whole new life. New city, new house, new friends…new crush.

Isaac Sharpe is the hottest guy on campus – with an even hotter reputation. After a chance meeting, April quickly finds herself wrapped up in all that he is. But what if all that he is isn’t what it seems?

Caught up in a battle between what she wants and what she thinks she needs, April meets Lukas Roberts. Lukas is the security blanket that she craves so desperately and she finds solace in their friendship. But what happens when she finds more than she bargained for?

April has always been a big believer of fate, but will she learn that she’s in control of her own destiny before it’s too late?

______________________________________________________________________________________

“Love isn’t safe. Love is crazy and scary and unpredictable. You can’t control it and you sure as hell can’t fight it. It’s one of life’s greatest risks…But it’s also one of life’s greatest gifts” – Katie, April’s Best Friend

April Showers is a New Adult novel that depicts the life of April Adams and her experience in University. Now her journey through university is not all smooth sailing like she would have hoped, in fact she hits a major snag in her journey on her very first day of uni. This snag just so happens to mark the very beginning of her encounter with cupids arrow.

So onto April. April worked extremely hard to get into the university of her dreams, so when the first day of uni comes round and April runs late, she practically curses herself for being tardy.In an attempt to make it to her lecture on time, she decides to run to class. She gets too caught up in her lateness and doesn’t notice something in front of her until its too late, and she gets knocked onto her ass.  When she looks up, she is greeted by something she didn’t expect to see, that something was actually a someone. This someone just so happens to be a beautiful blue eyed, well dressed, god-of-a-man who renders April speechless.

Hell, I was tempted to play dead in the hope that he would give me the kiss of life.  – April on Isaac

Isaac Sharpe, is the name of this beautiful blue eyed stranger and judging from their interactions, he thinks April is pretty damn beautiful. He’s the guy that everyone at uni wants. Wherever he goes, he turns heads wherever he goes, yet he isn’t a player and he isn’t full of himself. He is a bit arrogant but in that cocky, smart ass sort of way and his relationship with April is quite playful.

Now cue the violins, cause  cupid has really decided to mess with Aprils love life.

As April dusts the mud off of her ass (from her fall of course), she makes it to class late. Now we all hate being late, but when the whole theatre turns to stare you down, well that’s just a plain crawl under a rock and stop breathing moment. I personally, would have crawled under a rock, but April, she holds her head up high and scans the area for an empty seat. Thank the lord that she finds one and doesn’t have to stay standing. You can thank the lord again cause it just so happens that she ends up sitting next to a cute looking, brown eyed, boy-next-door, blonde with a *gasp*swoon worthy Scottish accent. Oh yeah HELLO 😉 His name is Lukas Roberts and he goes on to have a somewhat interesting relationship with April, firstly becoming Aprils best guy friend and then maybe something more? DUN DUN DUN.

So you would think that April’s love life would be easy, I mean she meets drop dead hot guy Isaac and has a best friend in Lukas. BUT NO, *insert drama here*, you see Isaac hides something from April and along the way Lukas falls in love with April. So now April has two equally swoon worthy guys who want her attention. Lucky girl right? Wrong! Why? I tell you why, DRAMA. Unless you like drama, I mean go on of course, take your pick of guy. The drop dead hot mystery man or the sweet boy next door?

So, skipping the Isaac-April-Lukas triangle- octagon pear shaped drama for now, I’m gonna cover some of the supporting characters. First off we have Katie – April’s best friend. She’s a bit of a firecracker and is pretty damn funny,  here’s a cheesy line that made me chuckle:

“I’m done. No more Isaac, you’re not even allowed to mention his name anymore.” (April)

“What about the t-shirts I’ve ordered?” (Katie)

“What t-shirts?” (April)

“My Team Isaac ones.” (Katie)

Anyway, Katie is a bit of a smart ass and  her phone conversations with April provides a lot of the humour in the story. I mean we all have a best friend who makes us crack up with every line and Katie is just that!

Next up is man-whore-Dan, he is Lukas’s roommate and is a bit.. no scrap that.. a LOT of a douche bag.

“I think I’m in love” Dan announced as we watched the cheerleaders at the midweek football game.

“With what? Her ass?” I asked. (April)

He scowled at me, “No…her rack.”

See what I mean, funny character but a man whore nonetheless.

Anyway, then there is Hollie who is a bit, actually a lot of a skank. She is a cheerleader, she can get any guy she wants and loves attention. At first she is after Lukas but she ends up settling for Dan. They end up in a friends with benefits type of relationship. Anyway, somehow as I kept reading both Dan and Hollie’s character grew on me. Sue me, I liked the man whore and cheerleader together, although they werent together if that makes sense. Personally, I would love to hear more about their developing relationship, not trying to suggest anything… wink wink Karli? 😉

Ok, so far, we have met all the characters, and like I said they are all pretty funny. But cue the dramatic music because there is deception mixed into the storyline. As I mentioned somewhere before, Isaac chose to omit a part of his life that April found very pertinent to her  academic life.Then there is Lukas, who we find out later does the exact same thing. Wow, the men in this story. Tsk tsk. Anyway, how does Aprils once innocent life turn into  a mess of a love triangle? Well that minor detail that Isaac didn’t tell April was actually quite major and comes to light. April  decides she cant be with Isaac even though he is all she ever thinks about:

He makes me crazy! I hear a song, I think about Isaac. I go to class, I think about Isaac. I go to sleep and I fucking dream about Isaac. I give up, I can’t do it anymore.”

Because she won’t let Isaac in, she turns to Lukas. They start off as friends and then I think April tries to turn them into something more.  April uses Lukas in an way to make her forget about Isaac. I felt like they were just good friends, he had a crush on her but she forced herself to reciprocate his feelings to get her mind off of Isaac. So you can imagine how tangled this web of love is now, huh.

April Showers is written in only Aprils perspective, but the constant dialogue and banter between April and all the characters was pretty funny. Karli has incorporated a lot of humour into the novel which does make you chuckle to yourself a few times. This was a quick read that portrays the whole love at first sight theme, aka instant-love. However, although I am a firm believer in love, I’m not quite sold with the love at first sight scenario. I believe in lust at first sight, not love at first sight. Which made it difficult for me personally, to believe in the relationship between April and Isaac.  April has one, no actually, two chance encounters with Isaac before she “falls in love with him”. Their first meeting was quite brief and was when they first met.  Their second meeting was a bit longer when they hung out with one another at a mixer. But from these two meetings, their connection is apparently so strong that Isaac whispered to a waiter: ‘I’m going to marry that girl someday’.

Now I am not doubting that love at first sight happens in real life, but the possessiveness Isaac felt towards April, and Aprils belief in her connection to Isaac was quite strong and happened so quickly at an unbelievable rate. Although Isaac and April texted a few times and saw each other here and there, the fact that these encounters made their connection so intense was unbelievable to me. I get the whole I-can’t-stop-thinking-about-the-hot-guy I just met thing, because lets face it, when you see a hot guy or girl you’re just like HOT DAMN and they may stay in your mind for a while. But I don’t think a connection like what April and Isaac had can develop so quickly.  I would have preferred it April and Isaac’s relationship developed more, through more meetings or dates before it got to the intensity it came to. If they had known each other for longer and hung out more over a longer time span then I would have found their connection to be more believable. Then there is a part near the end where Isaac gives up something because he wants a relationship with April. He feels like she is the one and he doesn’t care about the thing he would give up or gave up to make her be with him. I’m not revealing if they end up together, because hey there Lukas is still in the picture. But regardless of the fact, I don’t think there someone would give up something that important and massive in their life, for a person they had only a few encounters with.

I did enjoy reading April Showers, but had it of had a few minor tweaks re: longer time period, more encounters before falling in love. Then I would have believed it and enjoyed it more. Nevertheless, April Showers was a good debut novel and I would only recommend it to those who are over 18, who don’t mind the fast paced instant-love thing that happened between the characters. Karli did a good job of incorporating witty banter between each of the characters and  before I forget to mention, the book ends in a cliffhanger! So for all you nail-biters out there, you have been warned!

