An Endless Summer by C.J Duggan + Giveaway! [NOW CLOSED]

Genre: New Adult

Release Date: July 15, 2013

Add to Goodreads

C.J’s Links: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

An Endless Summer is the second book in the Summer series! If you haven’t read The Boys of Summer yet, check it out on Amazon. It is currently on sale for .99 cents!

If you want a sample of An Endless Summer, head on over to Amazon, read the preview and buy the book! I loved it and you will see just how much in my review! So my friends, read on!

Synopsis

Sean looked out over the lake, squinting against the sunlight. He turned to me, his expression sobering as his eyes flicked over my face in a silent study.

“Come on Amy, I saved you once, I’ll save you again.”
I met his stare unflinchingly. “I don’t need saving.”
A wicked grin formed slowly. “Don’t you?”

After a rebellious summer night that almost claimed her life, Amy Henderson – the Onslow publican’s only daughter – is sent away to suffer a fate far worse than any other punishment:

Boarding School.

Three years on, a now nineteen-year-old Amy returns to Onslow for the summer. What once was a cauldron of activity with live bands, hot meals and cold beers, the Onslow Hotel now lies dark, deserted and depressing. All fond childhood memories of loitering on the hotel stairs and eavesdropping on customers’ colourful conversations are in the distant past.

How had her dad let it come to this?

With the new threat of putting the Onslow up for sale, Amy reluctantly turns to a local tradesman for help: Sean Murphy, the very same Onslow boy who saved her life all those years ago. With his help and that of some old friends, the task is clear: spend the summer building the hotel back up to its former glory or lose it for good.

In an endless summer, Amy soon realises that sometimes in order to save your future, you have to face your past, even if it’s in the form of a smug, gorgeous Onslow boy.

______________________________________________________________________________________

My Thoughts

Hello friends, before I start on my review I just wanted to write a quick apology for those who visited our blog yesterday expecting to find this review. Unfortunately due to technical difficulties we were unable to post. However, today everything is all up and running! I am so excited to be sharing my review on An Endless Summer with you all, So onto my review!

Firstly, for those of you who have not yet heard of An Endless Summer, I will let you know that it is the second book in the “Summer Series”. This series was written by the talented Australian writer: C.J Duggan.

The first book in the Summer Series is called The Boys Of Summer.  Reading the first book, I felt like it was definitely a cutesy romance, and that is what originally drew me in to signing up for the Endless Summer Blog Tour. BOY OH BOY am I glad I signed up as I FREAKING LOVED An Endless Summer! First of all I will say that I am 100000% in LOVE with this book. I kid you not my dear friends, C.J’s ability to write a romance filled novel that doesn’t just centre around romance is brilliant. Her writing style is witty and charismatic in a sense, as her main characters: Amy Henderson and Sean Murphy are lovable, normal, everyday people that I completely adored. But before I get lost in my own thoughts, , I feel like I should mention that the Summer Series is one of those series where I feel like you would get a better understanding of the second book by reading the first book first (does that make sense). An Endless Summer is based on two characters that were sort of side-line/secondary characters in The Boys of Summer. All of the characters that you’re introduced to in the first book appear in the second book and their relationships continue on in the same way – translation: read the first book if you want to understand more of the characters and their relationships.

Now, I admit that I have been reading and writing reviews about books that were all good but not great. This book however, exceeded my expectations. I can’t pinpoint just one thing that made this book stand out to me, it was a multitude of things. It was firstly the way the C.J writes.  C.J has a way with words, a way with character development and the creation of each charcters personality. Her characters were all relatable characters. An Endless Summer, is  technically classified as New Adult, however unlike most books where the storyline is completely about the journey of the two characters who find love, this book revolved around what I reckon are three central themes. The first theme that is critical to both storylines is The Onslow Hotel. The Onslow Hotel, is pretty much the towns local watering hole. It is a place where you come for a drink after a hards day work and pretty much is the perfect place to just hang out with your mates.

The second theme in the series is The Onslow Boys. Now the Onslow Boys are a bunch of beautiful men composed of Toby, Sean, Stan and Ringer. These boys come to the Onslow almost daily to have a drink and shoot some pool. Toby and Sean are both gorgeous looking men that girls swoon after. I’m not 100% sure about Stan and Ringer but these boys are always having a good time. Last but not least the third theme is the romance, it wasnt a straightforward romance it was a flirtation-friendship – more on this if you keep reading.

So there you have it the three central themes of the book, The Onslow Hotel and The Onslow Boys and the Romance!

So now onto the main characters! There are 2 main characters in An Endless Summer, firstly there is little Amy Henderson, who is seen as ‘the publicans spoilt nineteen year old daughter’. Her fathers family has owned The Onslow for a very long time and she is slightly younger than the all of the other characters in the book. Amy was sent away to boarding school and only just returned to town as part of her gap year before she enters university. She returns home with plans to work and live in the Onslow Hotel. Her plans drastically change when she discovers the hotel she once knew and loved has turned into a dump. An Endless Summer, with her fierce determination, Amy decides to spend her time fixing up the Onslow to prove her parents wrong. That she isn’t wasting her time taking a gap year and that she could do things on her own.

I loved Amy’s character. She was full of fire and humour, sarcasm and wit oozed from her pores. Amy is a very determined yet stubborn person and is very independent. At times, I felt like Amy was a bit timid, as she was always unsure of the way she looked when she decided to dress up.  The beginning of the book is a bit of a flashback to how she first meets Sean Murphy. Sean is in his mid twenties and is the resident stud muffin of Onslow, with a pair of beautiful, vivid blue eyes, an amazing body and a personality that both rivaled and complemented Amy’s. Pretty much, the guy has got it going on. He has his own building business and is pretty successful at his age. Where Amy is occasionally shy, Sean oozes confidence and is a bit cocky. I also really loved his character and

Oh yes, I did. He was a genuinely amazing guy with a personality that you could just fall for. He is sweet, thoughtful, genuine and will compassionate.

I completely adored both Amy and Sean. I loved their chemistry and I loved the pace at which their relationship grew.  Technically they didn’t have a relationship it was more a flirtation-ship, where Amy was full of sarcasm and Sean well he just loved to press Amy’s buttons, they challenged each other through their competitiveness and her stubbornness and I LOVED IT. Call me strange, but I loved the fact that they were constantly challenging each other.  Amy kept denying her feelings towards Sean and well Sean you couldn’t really tell his feelings towards Amy, he was sort of a hard to read closed book. Although you could never tell Sean’s feelings, he did little things to show Amy he cared, even if she didn’t really notice it – read the book, there are too many sweet gestures he does and she all thinks he is doing it for ‘charity’. Oh Amy, how naive and unknowing you were ;)Their flirt-ationship wasn’t any of this new age insta-love crap. It was sort of a forced on friendship, in which Sean kept turning up and saving Amy. Throughout the novel, Amy being sort of clumsy always ends up needing saving and Sean is always there to save her, he’s sort of like a Amy’s knight in shining armor.

You cant blame me for swooning over Sean,  I mean what girl doesn’t swoon over a guy who is constantly saving them, if Sean is constantly saving Amy, it means that he is always there for her. Now please name me a girl that wouldnt swoon over a guy like that.

C.J has written a wonderful novel, that I absolutely loved. I loved the relationships between each and every character, I loved her writing style and how much humour was laced in the novel, I loved the sarcasm and wit and most of all I loved Amy and Sean. I was rooting for them the whole novel, I couldn’t put the book down as I wanted to know where their flirt-ationship would go, so I pretty much stayed up till 5am reading. I know I am a full on psycho, but I was hooked and I would recommend this book to you if you:

  1. want to learn more about us australians and our mannerisms 😉
  2. are looking for a book that doesnt soley focus on romance
  3. want a book full of geniune and fun relationships
  4. are like me and love sarcastic characters love humour and just all round love really witty comebacks
  5. want a light hearted and humorous novel

Just on an ending note, in all seriousness

I want a relationship exactly like Amy and Sean’s. I felt like they didnt need to change for one another, they were completely themselves and just clicked. They had a genuine chemistry and I now feel like I will end up like a lonely cat lady with 1000+ cats. I am in a mood of depression and am currently sitting here with a block of chocolate and cookies. Oh C.J, I blame my happiness, giddiness and depression like state, on you and your ability to conjure up the fantastic chemistry and relationship between Amy and Sean is astounding. For that I pretty much love you 😉  Thank you for telling their story and I absolutely cannot wait for book the third book in the series: That One Summer!

As always, let me know your thoughts on my review 🙂 Are you all interested in reading An Endless Summer?

______________________________________________________________________________________

About C.J Duggan

C.J Duggan is an Australian author who lives with her husband in a rural border town of New South Wales, Australia.
The Boys of Summer is Book One in her Mature Young Adult Romance Series.

INTERNATIONAL TOUR WIDE GIVEAWAY!

One very lucky readers can enter to win a signed paperback copy of either The Boy of Summer or An Endless Summer, and 5 lucky readers can enter to win an ebook copy of The Boys of Summer or An Endless Summer ! CLICK HERE to enter!

