Highly Anticipated Reads – Near & Far by Nicole Williams

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Expected Release Date: July 30, 2013

Add to Goodreads

Nicole’s Links: Website Facebook | Twitter Goodreads

I  haven’t posted in a while and I thought I should write a quick post on a book that I am very very very excited for. Before I get into the book, I would like to mention why we have been m.i.a (missing in action). We very recently experienced a family loss and due to this our posts will be less regular for the next few weeks. We will try and update when we can  however, we cannot guarantee that we will be posting. We hope you continue to read our blog and stay with us during this time.

I have only recently read Lost & Found by Nicole Williams and I absolutely loved it! Her writing style, the storyline, everything! So when the sequel to Lost & Found popped up on my book radar, I was so flippin’ excited! I loved Jesse and Rowen’s story and am so happy that they’re getting a sequel. Although I would have assumed that any sequel would’ve been about Garth (don’t panic Nicole has said Garth will also be getting his own book as well! Double Win!) or maybe even Josie but don’t get me wrong, I am still super-duper excited that Jesse and Rowen are getting another book!

Book Synopsis

There’s optimistic. And there’s Jesse Walker.

If he wasn’t so charming, his sunny disposition and incessant grin would get annoying. Fast.

Falling in love with the girl who had at first seemed immune to it, was the best thing to happen to Jesse since the Walkers adopted him into their family when he was five. But loving the girl who has her fair share of secrets is about as easy as that same girl loving the boy who seems to have none.

As Jesse’s life continues at the ranch, and Rowen begins making her mark in the Seattle art community, they begin to wonder where the middle ground is. Or if there even is one.

As push comes to shove and choices aren’t only needing to be made, but forced to be made, Jesse and Rowen have to face what their lives might look like without the other.

Can two people with such tragic pasts and different presents, go on to expect a promising future? Whatever the answer, they’ll need a lot more than love to make it.

Teaser:

(Courtesy of The Autumn Review)

JESSE


She didn’t have a car. She didn’t do public transportation, except for the Greyhound bus she took once a month when it was her weekend to come to Montana. Nope, what mode of transportation did my girlfriend prefer to use in rainy, traffic-ridden Seattle?

A bike.

Yep, an old, single gear bike she’d found left behind at the apartment complex a week after she’d moved in. It made me uneasy in every way a guy could feel uneasy when it came to the deep-seeded need to keep his girlfriend safe. It made me want to buy her a bus pass or a reliable little Honda every time I thought of her peddling her way to school every day. Or cruising to the funky doughnut shop she worked at that wasn’t exactly located on the good side of the tracks.

She’d refused all of my suggestions when it came to some kind, any kind, of transportation other than a bike. She was adamant I was being ridiculous. I was adamant she was being just as ridiculous. So what did I do when I knew she thought she was right, but I also knew I was just as right?

I let it go.

Rowen rode a bike in a part of Seattle that made my stomach clench into knots when I thought about it. There was no compromise in this situation. That was about me sacrificing what I wanted for what she wanted because, ultimately, no one person could ever control another person. The harder one tried, the more the other slipped through their fingers. I wasn’t going to let Rowen slip through mine by being a controlling, overbearing caveman.

I couldn’t and perhaps what was more essential, I wouldn’t, control her. So I controlled the few things that I could when it came to her chosen mode of transportation.

Like attending to burnt out streetlights on the side walk leading to her apartment. Or checking her tires. Or greasing the chain. Or making sure she still kept the can of mace I’d given her the day she’d moved over here in the side pocket of her backpack. I accepted the things I could control, and didn’t waste my time controlling the things I couldn’t.

It was an easier concept to accept than it was to execute most of the time.

