Chase by Chantal Fernando and Dawn Martens

Chase is the typical boy meets girl story. Girl meets boy (or more like boy stares at girl from across the room), have instant chemistry, try to deny their love before finally getting together and facing the trials and tribulations that apparently always happen when you fall in love. The story opens with Layla, who we see move into a share house with people she doesn’t even know. Now, one would think that you want to make sure that your not moving in with a bunch of serial killers but no, Layla literally moves into the house after a five minute meeting with James – one of the three males who live in the house. If you thought that was strange, it gets stranger…. Layla not only disregards the whole STRANGER DANGER thing, but Layla moves in without every meeting the actual landlord of the house.

What I couldn’t really understand was the first few chapters of novel where James and Kade (both boys who live in the house) never mention their landlord and when he is mentioned, they talk about him in a way that makes this supposed “landlord” sound like some sort of demi-god who they must never speak of.  This mysterious element surrounding him is a bit strange, but we find out that he really is just one of those  arrogant jerk-bags who humps-and-dumps hordes of screaming girls, thinking that he can because he believes that he is centre of every girls world. Sorry dude, but no, you are not. Layla finally has a brief interaction (well not really an interaction  unless you count hearing him in the hallway) being a jerk to a random girl and that is really the only time in the book where she hears of this landlord before their “coincidental” meeting, which happens later in the book – more on that later..

Layla develops a friendship with James and Kade, but the bickering and banter between Kade and Layla seemed more like the lover kind of relationship. However, this proposed relationship between Layla and Kade is nothing more than your typical sister-brother-relationship-where-they-are-not-actually-related kind of relationship. This in fact saddened me deeply.

Now, you might be thinking, who is this Chase the book is named after and ‘Where does he fit into all this?’ Well firstly the landlords name is Chase, now, if you assumed that Chase is a guy then yes, you are correct. If you think that  he may be  Layla’s love interest, then yes, you are also correct – although to my disappointment, as I honestly felt like she was going to end up with Kade, and If you had the inkling that he somehow happens to be the landlord of the house she is living in then DING-DING, you are again correct. Now this part gets weird, having never met within the confines of the sharehouse, Chase and Layla somehow coincidentally meet in a club. Yes, that is right, Layla meets the landlord of her house in a night club. What was even more strange was the fact that neither knew who the other was until an awkward exchange the next morning, in which Layla thought she was at Chase’s house, when in fact it turned out to be her house as well. She then awkwardly ran into James and Kade while trying to doing the walk of shame. Talk about awkward with a capital A.

What annoyed me even more about this exchange was the way Chase was all like, ‘Hey girl, I can’t stop looking at you from across the room’ and next thing you know she has jumped into bed with him. Woaaaah girl, you need to calm those hormones, and correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure Layla was a virgin before she met Chase. So the fact that she just jumped into bed with a guy she doesn’t even know, a guy that said she was pretty – just seems really rushed, to say the least (although she did just swat away James and Kade when they called her hot, so we can clearly see that she has no problem with rejecting a guy’s advances).

Now, there is a saying that goes:

,  

and that right there pretty much sums up how I feel about this book. Now, normally I like to give most books I read the light of day, you know to give it a chance to shine before I truly decide whether or not I like it. However, I seriously could not stand to read another word of this ridiculous saga. To be honest, it started off ok and somewhat bearable, but as I progressed,  I couldn’t bring myself to finish the rest of the book off.  The way the story was written made it sound like a diary rather than an actual novel. There were parts where I thought, ‘Did that really need to be clarified?’ or ‘Girl stop yo rants! This ain’t yo journal!’. Some parts of the story were really over described (and when I say really over-described, I mean REALLY, REALLY over-described to the point where it felt like I was reading a recount on what she did that day that really had little relevance to the overall story. This also added no value to the continuing plot and I’m not even kidding when I say the first three chapters of the book is about Layla literally describing her first three days living in this male-dominated environment. Yes like I previously stated: ‘This is not a recount!’).

The characters were not developed enough and from the first couple of chapters that I read, I couldn’t really connect or get a feel for each of the characters.  For example, Layla’s friendship with James and Kade came so instantly. We don’t see the development of this friendship and we really don’t get to see how and why they all click and. All we see is Layla moving in and it’s pretty much like she already knew James and Kade, because all of a sudden, from day one they were acting like the best of friends. Then there was the repeated use of ‘I did this, then I did that’ which occurred constantly throughout the book – which drove me up the wall, coupled with the short sentence structure and now you’ve got me banging my head against the wall!

As I was reading, I noticed that the more important elements to the storyline were lacking the detail needed to really flesh out the story and make it feel complete. I would like to say that I noticed many spelling mistakes and grammatical errors but honestly, I didn’t notice them as much as I was too distracted by the outrageous storyline (Ok, I did notice some that could’ve easily been fixed if it was read through with a fine-tooth comb, an extra-fine-tooth comb that is).

All in all,  I didn’t like this book one bit. The only thing that I liked remotely was Kade’s character and I don’t even know why.

You know how they say you get lost in a book and connect with the characters to the point you cry and laugh along with them. Yeah, I think its safe to say I did not feel that at all. I stopped reading a few chapters in as I really could not deal with the language and format. Also I do feel that I need to reiterate the fact that this review is MY OPINION about this book and would obviously differ from your views and opinions.

Adios,

