Highly Anticipated Reads – The Originals by Cat Patrick

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Release Date: May 2013

Add to Goodreads

Author Links: Goodreads|Website|Twitter

So I was casually strolling around in my local book store when on the corner of the bottom shelf I spot this little beauty. So what do I do? I of course pick it up and read the synopsis AND BOOM I was sucked in. The concept of clones is one that I haven’t really come across too often and when it’s mixed with love and romance I just knew I had to add it to my bookshelf! I was so excited to read it but of course being it is my last year of high school, I’m constantly bombarded with homework and assignments and considering it is currently assessment week, I had to put the book down, walk away and hope it would still be there when I come back 😦 What a sad, sad, sad day that was.

But anyway! Don’t let that stop you from getting a copy and from all the reviews I’ve read (of course I came home and googled the book to see if it was really worth my while) it sounds like it is definitely worth the buy.

Book Synopsis

17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets… until they discovered a shocking family secret. They’re actually closer than sisters, they’re clones. Hiding from a government agency that would expose them, the Best family appears to consist of a single mother with one daughter named Elizabeth. Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take turns going to school, attending social engagements, and a group mindset has always been a de facto part of life…

Then Lizzie meets Sean Kelly, a guy who seems to see into her very soul. As their relationship develops, Lizzie realizes that she’s not a carbon copy of her sisters; she’s an individual with unique dreams and desires, and digging deeper into her background, Lizzie begins to dismantle the delicate balance of an unusual family that only science could have created.

What do you guys think? Are you interested in reading this?

