Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

ruin

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Rachel’s Links: Facebook | Goodreads

Add to Goodreads

Let me start by saying I SERIOUSLY LOVED THIS BOOK! Rachel Van Dyken you are a genius! Gabe and Kiersten are prime examples of the new adult phenomenon i like to call, ‘insta-love’. They meet, have an undeniable chemistry and fall in love all within a short space of time. But while that statement sounds cynical towards insta-love relationships, Gabe and Kiersten were just so cute I almost wanted to crawl up into a ball and just cry at the cuteness that was their relationship.

Everything about this book was the perfect and I loved every single page. Kiersten meets Gabe in a very unorthodox way. Now sit down little kiddies and let me tell you the story of how mummy met daddy aka how Kiersten met Gabe.

So you know Kiersten, a college freshman is just strolling along minding her own business. You know nothing strange or out of the ordinary until BAM! The girl runs into a freaking tree! Yep she ran into a tree. Ok. I lied, not a tree but a boy. A very hot boy. Now you may think, how would one proceed to handle this very awkward situation? Me personally? I’d look up and realise what I was dealing with and run five kilometres in the opposite direction, hoping that he didn’t notice the strange girl who just ran into him, without saying a word, is now running away like a mad man. Kiersten on the other hand makes this awkward situation even awkwarder by proceeding to count the abs on the boy! Yes she counts his abs. I’m cringing at the thought of this super awkward situation but I’m also laughing my head off at the ridiculousness of it all. Ok, ok, it was so hilarious that I’m just going to let you read the excerpt of their first encounter.

I wasn’t sure if I was embarrassed or just irritated. Cursing, I held the packet to my chest and stomped off. I turned around to send him on last seething glare and ran smack dab into a tree.

Or at least it felt like a tree.

But trees weren’t warm.

And they didn’t have one, two, three, four, six, Good Lord, eight? Eight packs?

Furthermore, had I actually been feeling said persons eight pack? And, dear God, I was counting. I had touched each muscle. And great, my hand was still firmly placed against the guy’s stomach.

I jerked my hand back and closed my eyes.

“Were you just counting my abs?” His voice amused, it also sounded like a movie star voice, the type that makes you want to jump into the TV screen. It was deep, strong, and had a slight accent I couldn’t place. Brittish? Scottish?

I took my lower lip between my teeth and thought about what to say. Well, there really was no way out it. I nodded, “Sorry, I just…” I shouldn’t have looked. If I could go back in time I would. I have no idea that one look would devastate me. Weeks from now I would regret that one look, for one reason and one reason only.

His eyes held my ruin.

“Weston” He held out his hand, “And you are?”

Rachel Van Dyken has done an incredible job! Every character is portrayed well and with enough background knowledge to really feel like you really understand each of them. Plus its not full of ‘filler’ characters where they serve pretty much no purpose to the overarching story line. Rachel Van Dyken achieved a good balance between both the humourous and dramatic aspects of the book. She writes the story really well and it doesn’t come across as cheesy or overly unrealistic and that is a skill that is hard to achieve. This book is definitely up there on my list of favourites and is one I would recommend.

